The Notes of Roanoke- Entry 10

I blame myself for all that has happened because of Iblis but I must wonder how much is truly my fault. Was it when I brought him to meet my family? Was it when he mind linked with Tialgo because I didn’t stop it? Was it when the other Sages and I tried to teach him? When we taught him of the world that helped him comprehend his origin? Was it when I brought him into Atlantis? Was this madness always part of him and that’s why the two Gods banished him in the first place? Or perhaps was it the act of being abandoned by his parents into a dead reality that started this series of events…Not that it matters at this point.I pleaded with Iblis to try and reach the innocent creature I once knew but he was too far gone. The Rift was his domain and now that Roanoke was part of it, we had an ultimatum. We serve him or we die. As

I pleaded with Iblis to try and reach the innocent creature I once knew but he was too far gone. The Rift was his domain and now that Roanoke was part of it, we had an ultimatum. We serve him or we die. As Sages, we were tasked with protecting all of Roanoke no matter the threat. Today was the day we defied a god. We had never lost when all eight of us were together and were confident. Together we threw everything we could at the God and he just stood there. No sign of pain or even annoyance. We were less than nothing to him. He just looked at me with those hollow eyes and I froze. I’ve never felt so powerless before…the only thing that roused me was seeing Tialgo return to us. His body surging with Abyssal Aether as he killed the other Sages one by one…He wanted me to see and watch it all. In my mind, I knew they’d just reincarnate but it still hurt me all the same. Were it not for our Familiars I would’ve fallen to. So I fled like a coward. What was I to do? For all my power I couldn’t take on a God let alone a Psychic Dragon being empowered by that same God. It wasn’t long before I heard screams and realized an already hopeless situation got worse. Iblis…he created life…he made those damned Angels. Things that just seeing would drive you insane if you were lucky. The ones who didn’t and remained to try and fight in place of the Sages were no match for them. So many lives were being ended in increasingly horrible ways and I didn’t do anything. Selfishly running to my family in hopes of saving them. All the while Tialgo was leading the Angels through the streets. Only stopping when Forshune decided to oppose them.But then I remembered something I had forgotten in my fear and confusion. My name is Solomon the Empathetic, son of

But then I remembered something I had forgotten in my fear and confusion. My name is Solomon the Empathetic, son of Eodeb the Lightbringer and Sage of Light. So long as I lived there will always be light even in the blackest night. With my tome and sword in swore on my fellow Sages lives, I’d protect what was left of Roanoke.-Solomon the Empathetic

-Solomon the Empathetic

Next Issue

Notesof Roanoke- Entry 11

Leave a Reply

